The Streak Is Broken

Photo taken from Flickr user: bored-now

I was hoping to write about this at a future date with much more attractive results. Unfortunately I can’t, because a streak I had going is officially broken.

Meeting new people at any point in time, whether it’s strangers, friends of friends, or co-workers, is a normal part of life, but to meet romantic interests on the same dates from year to year is a little more rare. For the past two years (2010 and 2011), there have been three specific weekends, the same in both years, in which I have met someone new. They are: 1) the weekend after Valentine’s Day, 2) the weekend of a conference I volunteer for in March, and 3) my birthday weekend in October.

Besides the dates, another similarity from year to year has been the level of involvement with these “romantic interests.” The two guys I’ve met in February I actually ended up dating for a few months, though not exclusively. Nothing really happened with the guys I’ve met in March, besides exchanging contact information. And for the guys from October, we kept in contact for a while but never officially dated.

Going into this year, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t curious to find out whether this streak would continue. I thought it would be a little too coincidental, but nice, if I indeed did meet another three guys on these three weekends. But I also thought that if it didn’t happen, it’s not the end of the world (yet) and it’s not the only times I could meet someone new. I should say that I don’t go out of my way to make these meetings happen, they just kind of happen.

Well, for the third time, I met someone the weekend after Valentine’s Day. It was sort of a last minute date/meet; we’re still currently “talking” and whether we end up dating remains to be seen.

This past weekend I volunteered at the annual conference again, but unfortunately didn’t meet anyone new. Womp womp womp. Ironically, I actually noticed a lot more guys attending the conference this year, than the previous years, that were questionably gay. So really, my odds seemed better, but still nothing happened and that’s ok.

I’m not surprised or bummed out that the streak is broken, since it’s not the only times I can meet someone new. For me, it was just more comical and quaint, and I was interested to see how long I would have this “good luck.” Then again, I’m still single… so meeting those guys couldn’t really have been so much good luck (though I did at least remain friends with two of them). Regardless, I look forward to future meets and dates, and who knows, maybe a new streak will begin.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Tell me your thoughts on this post...

